Across the 2019-20 campaign, Nottingham Forest will be looking for talismanic performances to be delivered across the field.

If collective targets are to be hit, then individuals are going to have to shine.

The Reds boast plenty of potential within their ranks, with the likes of Lewis Grabban and Joe Lolley proven match-winners on their day.

Albert Adomah and Tiago Silva are among those to have been drafted in to help meet expectations and fire the club back towards the Premier League.

Over the course of the season, we at Nottingham Forest News will be offering up player ratings after each Championship outing.

To make things a little more interesting, a Nottingham Forest Power Ranking is also being compiled – so who will top the charts come May?


Gameday mark Up/Down Total score
Matty Cash 265
Ben Watson 263
Joe Worrall 261
Tiago Silva 243
Lewis Grabban 243
Joe Lolley 238.5
Sammy Ameobi 233
Brice Samba 230
Tobias Figueiredo 161
Samba Sow 145
Yuri Ribeiro 129
Albert Adomah 118
Alfa Semedo 114
Joao Carvalho 113
Jack Robinson 105
Michael Dawson 89
Ryan Yates 8.5 97.5
Chema 55
Adama Diakhaby 6.5 50.5
Arijanet Muric 24
Carl Jenkinson 7 30
John Bostock 25
Tyler Walker 17
Brennan Johnson 6
Alex Mighten 7 13
Nuno Da Costa 7 12
Gaetan Bong 3
Jordan Smith
Tendayi Darikwa
Yohan Benaloune
Zach Clough
Michael Hefele
Toby Edser


Nottingham Forest Player of the Season winners

Whoever proves to be the most consistent performer across 2019-20 will scoop the Nottingham Forest Player of the Season award.

That prize has been handed out at the City Ground since 1977, as the Reds began their march towards becoming ‘Miracle Men’ under Brian Clough.

Tony Woodcock was the first to take the silverware, with the iconic figures of Kenny Burns, Garry Birtles and Larry Lloyd following in his footsteps during the glory years on Trentside.

Since then the great and good of Forest’s illustrious history have seen then efforts recognised.

Peter Shilton, Steve Hodge and Des Walker were among the winners in the 1980s, while Nigel Clough topped the poll on two occasions.

Legendary former captain Stuart Pearce collected three gongs in the 90s, with Walker adding another two successes to his impressive CV.

Steve Stone, Colin Cooper and Pierre van Hooijdonk were other notable victors in that era.

Chris Cohen and Andy Reid are the only men to have collected multiple awards in the 21st century, with the latter doing so 10 years apart across two spells with Forest.

David Johnson, Julian Bennett, Michail Antonio and Ben Osborn have also taken the silverware, while Joe Lolley currently has it sat on his mantelpiece.

Can he make it back-to-back wins in 2020?

Winners down the years

1977 – Tony Woodcock

1978 – Kenny Burns

1979 – Garry Birtles

1980 – Larry Lloyd

1981 – Kenny Burns

1982 – Peter Shilton

1983 – Steve Hodge

1984 – Chris Fairclough

1985 – Jim McInally

1986 – Nigel Clough

1987 – Des Walker

1988 – Nigel Clough

1989 – Stuart Pearce

1990 – Des Walker

1991 – Stuart Pearce

1992 – Des Walker

1993 – Steve Sutton

1994 – Dave Philips

1995 – Steve Stone

1996 – Stuart Pearce

1997 – Colin Cooper

1998 – Pierre van Hooijdonk

1999 – Alan Rogers

2000 – Dave Beasant

2001 – Chris Bart-Williams

2002 – Gareth Williams

2003 – David Johnson

2004 – Andy Reid

2005 – Paul Gerrard

2006 – Ian Breckin

2007 – Grant Holt

2008 – Julian Bennett

2009 – Chris Cohen

2010 – Lee Camp

2011 – Luke Chambers

2012 – Garath McCleary

2013 – Chris Cohen

2014 – Andy Reid

2015 – Michail Antonio

2016 – Dorus de Vries

2017 – Eric Lichaj

2018 – Ben Osborn

2019 – Joe Lolley