With the countdown to Christmas well and truly on, Seat Pitch brings you a unique take on the customary advent calendar with a Nottingham Forest twist.

We have 25 doors to open, with familiar faces from the present and past waiting behind each one (sorry, no chocolate).

At the end of the year, we will then compile the ultimate Reds squad made up of those voted into each number. You can have your say by getting involved with our daily Twitter polls.

Let’s keep things rolling with door No. 22:


(Getty Images)

Moved to Forest for a club record £2.9 million on the back of the 1994 World Cup, with that fee made to look quite the bargain.

Struck up a formidable partnership with Stan Collymore as the Reds finished third in the Premier League, while his quick feet and keen eye for goal also contributed to a run through to the quarter-finals of the UEFA Cup in 1995/96.


(Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images)

Took in exactly 150 appearances for Forest over the course of four-and-a-half seasons, having initially been snapped up from Arsenal in 2012.

Netted 33 goals for the club and took in a number of outings as captain before moving on in rather acrimonious circumstances to Aston Villa as he refused to commit to fresh terms at the City Ground.


(Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images)

Finished his first full season at the City Ground as Forest’s Player of the Year, which highlights how much work he got through during a disappointing tumble out of the Championship in 2004/05.

Slipped out of the side on a couple of occasions under Gary Megson, but always worked his way back into favour before suffering an unfortunate injury which edged him towards the exits.


Would you prefer to see somebody else fill the No. 22 spot – Gary Gardner, Stephen McPhail? Let us know your selection in the comment box below or reply to the Twitter poll – which can be found here.



Shilton, Crossley and door No. 1

Anderson, Lyttle and door No. 2

Pearce, Clark and door No. 3

Walker, Cooper and door No. 4

Lloyd, Chettle and door No. 5

Keane, Burns and door No. 6

O’Neill, Stone and door No. 7

Bowyer, Webb and door No. 8

Clough, Birtles and door No. 9

Collymore, Earnshaw and door No. 10

Robertson, Reid and door No. 11

Lee, McCleary and door No. 12

Fox, Wright and door No. 13

Woan, Freedman and door No. 14

Cohen, Van Hooijdonk and door No. 15

Gunter, Lascelles and door No. 16

Bonalair, McGugan and door No. 17

Antonio, Louis-Jean and door No. 18

Harewood, Lester and door No. 19

Dawson, McGregor and door No. 20

Smith, Paterson and door No. 21

Have something to tell us about this article?