Nottingham Forest’s trophy history is a rich one with the Reds sealing titles throughout their storied past. The City Ground side’s list of titles even includes league and European honours.

The club lifted their maiden trophy back in 1891/92 during their third campaign of organised league football. Cup success soon arrived in 1897/98. While Nottingham Forest legend Brian Clough delivered their first continental trophy with the club’s first European Cup in 1978/79.

Titles have proven to be scarce in recent seasons. But manager Steve Cooper led Nottingham Forest back into the Premier League by lifting the 2021/22 Championship play-off trophy. So, if you ever need reminding, here is a list of every trophy that Nottingham Forest have yet won…

Nottingham Forest have won a top-flight trophy

Coventry City v Nottingham Forest at Highfield Road
(Photo by Allan Olley and Monte Fresco/Mirrorpix/Getty Images)

The City Ground natives have only won one top-flight trophy throughout Nottingham Forest’s history dating back to 1865. Clough oversaw Nottingham Forest’s sole league trophy to date during the 1977/78 campaign. It was also the club’s first term in the top-flight since 1971/72.

Nottingham Forest swept up their sole top-league honour so far after claiming 25 wins in 42 games. The Reds also only lost three times and conceded just 18 goals during the 37 fixtures Peter Shilton appeared in. But they have not finished in the top two since the 1978/79 term.

Nottingham Forest’s top-flight trophies:

1977/78 (English Football League, Division One)

Along with their sole top-flight trophy to date, Nottingham Forest have won league titles in a further five seasons. The Reds sealed their first piece of silverware with the Football Alliance title. While the club have taken three second-tier titles and the third-tier trophy in one term.

Nottingham Forest’s other league trophies:

1891/92 (Football Alliance)

1906/07 (English Football League, Division Two)



1950/51 (English Football League, Third Division South)

Nottingham Forest have won the European Cup

Nottingham Forest 1979 European Cup Winners
(Photo by Allsport/Getty Images)

As well as succeeding in the domestic scene, Nottingham Forest have secured two European titles for their trophy cabinet throughout their history. The Reds prevailed in UEFA’s elite club competition under the Champions League’s former name, the European Cup, under Clough.

Nottingham Forest’s European titles:

1978/79 European Cup (beat Malmo FF 1-0 in the final)

1979/80 (beat Hamburger SV 1-0 in the final)

Nottingham Forest won the European Super Cup

Clough adding a European Cup to Nottingham Forest’s trophy cabinet in 1979 also sealed the club’s place in that year’s European Super Cup. The Reds faced FC Barcelona after the La Liga giants won the 1978/79 European Cup Winners’ Cup. The tie also took place across two legs.

Nottingham Forest’s other European titles:

1979 European Super Cup (beat FC Barcelona 2-1 on aggregate)

The Reds have won the FA Cup twice

Nottingham Forest win the 1959 FA Cup
(Photo by Mirrorpix via Getty Images)

Nottingham Forest’s trophy history also integrates two FA Cups on the list of how many titles the Reds’ have won. They first entered the oldest national football competition in the world in 1878/79. It was also the first time that the club entered an organised football tournament.

But Nottingham Forest did not add an FA Cup to their trophy history until their 20th attempt. The Reds had also never previously reached the final despite making the semi-finals on four occasions. While Billy Walker later oversaw their most recent title during his 21-year tenure.

Nottingham Forest’s FA Cup trophies:

1897/98 (beat Derby County 3-1 in the final)

1958/59 (beat Luton Town 2-1 in the final)

The Reds have won the EFL Cup four times

Stuart Pearce of Nottingham Forest
(Photo Credit: David Cannon/Allsport via Getty Images)

Nottingham Forest have also won the English Football League Cup (EFL Cup) four times since first entering the tournament in 1960/61. Clough would oversee the Reds’ debut triumph in the competition in 1977/78 alongside orchestrating their Division One success that season.

The Reds would retain the EFL Cup under Clough in the following season, alongside the first European Cup in Nottingham Forest’s trophy history. While Clough would later oversee their third and fourth triumphs in the competition by winning the trophy in successive campaigns.

Nottingham Forest’s EFL Cup trophies:

1977/78 (beat Liverpool 1-0 in a replay of the final)

1978/79 (beat Southampton 3-2 in the final)

1988/89 (beat Luton Town 3-1 in the final)

1989/90 (beat Oldham Athletic 1-0 in the final)

The Reds have won three further domestic cups

Nottingham Forest vs Southampton Zenith Data Systems Cup Final 1992
(Photo by Dale Cherry/Mirrorpix/Getty Images)

Alongside the major titles that sit in Nottingham Forest’s trophy cabinet, the Reds have won a further three domestic cups throughout their history. The club won the Community Shield once under its Charity Shield moniker. While the Reds also won the Full Members Cup twice.

Nottingham Forest’s other domestic cup titles:

1978 Charity Shield (beat Ipswich Town 5-0)

1988/89 Full Members Cup (beat Everton 4-3 after extra time in the final)

1991/92 (beat Southampton 3-2 after extra time in the final)