Referee Robert Jones has been criticised by Nottingham Forest boss Sabri Lamouchi for failing to give the Reds a penalty in the second-half against Cardiff City.
Lamouchi admitted that he was unhappy with the decision during his post-match press conference on Saturday, and claimed that it was a clear penalty for his side.
João Carvalho’s shot around five minutes into the second-half appeared to be blocked by a hand. Despite appeals for handball from the Reds, Jones opted to give nothing.
Lamouchi told the Nottingham Post that Jones had got the decision wrong during Forest’s defeat at the City Ground, claiming: “Not only that, a clear penalty in the second-half.
“What can I say to the referee? He’s the boss on the pitch and he decides what he wants.
“We can talk with him or not, but his decision is his decision. We must just accept the decision but I’m not agreeing with the decision.”
It’s fair to say that Saturday’s game felt like it could turn out to be a frustrating afternoon from early on. There’s no doubt that the referee’s performance didn’t help matters.
Forest weren’t able to back up their win against Queens Park Rangers as Cardiff came away with the three points. The Reds were hardly at their best, but the Bluebirds knew exactly how to play the game and frustrated Lamouchi’s men throughout with their tactics.
Nathaniel Mendez Laing’s strike from around 20-yards out around 13 minutes into the game was enough to secure the win for Cardiff.
The Reds will now turn their attention to Millwall at the New Den on Friday. It provides the Reds with the ideal opportunity to bounce back to winning ways in the Championship.