Nottingham Forest head coach Steve Cooper has named his team to play Barnsley in the Championship this evening, as per the club’s official Twitter account.

The full match squad is as follows:

Nottingham Forest starting XI: Samba; Spence, Cook, McKenna, Colback; Zinckernagel, Garner, Yates, Johnson; Davis, Grabban.

Substitutes: Horvath, Figueiredo, Lowe, Cafu, Silva, Carvalho, Konate.

Nottingham Forest v Barnsley: What’s the story?

Since the two sides met in October, both teams have progressed in quite different ways.

At that point of the season, Steve Cooper’s team had eight points – the same amount as Barnsley had.

Since then, Forest have raced through the gears and have taken 32 points to sit on the cusp of a Championship play-off place.

Barnsley on the other hand, have gone bottom of the division after taking just six points since Forest beat them 3-1 at Oakwell.

Tonight, Forest will hope that it doesn’t prove to be a case of After the Lord Mayor’s Show.

The Reds defeated Derby 2-1 on Saturday and the atmosphere was rocking at the City Ground.

Supporters will now hope that the Reds don’t slip up against the division’s basement boys.

It looks to be a 4-4-2 tonight with Brice Samba behind a back four of Djed Spence, Steve Cook, Scott McKenna and Jack Colback.

James Garner and Ryan Yates start in midfield with Philip Zinckernagel and Brennan Johnson out wide, supplying the front two of Keinan Davis and Lewis Grabban.

Youngster Ateef Konate makes the bench, joining Ethan Horvath, Tobias Figueiredo, Max Lowe, Cafu, Xande Silva and Joao Carvalho.

Broadcast details

Tonight’s game is live on Sky Sports Red Button, with the coverage beginning at 7:40pm

Elsewhere, BBC Radio Nottingham will, as always, provide live radio commentary.

Fan reaction to Forest team picked to play Barnsley

Steve Cooper has done some great stuff on the banks of the River Trent – and there is more to come.

The Reds supporters don’t typically have too many complaints these days and the head coach has once again picked a strong team.

Here is what the fan base have had to say regarding tonight’s starting line-up:

Have something to tell us about this article?